Frittata and Tomato Couscous Bento + Recipe

frittata bento

For today’s lunch, I brought with me oven-baked mixed veg frittata and tomato couscous I made last night. Frittata is a type of Italian omelette that is great for clearing your fridge. I had some cherry tomatoes, a green bell pepper, and mushrooms that had been in my fridge for a while; this recipe helped use them up. It also provided my 5-a-day; bonus! 🙂

My frittata recipe can be found below. Unfortunately I don’t have a recipe for the tomato couscous, as I made it up as I went along… in an agak-agak (guesstimative) manner.

My bento has been featured as one of the Brilliantly Better Breakfast options on InspireLearnLive.com. Do check out the other Briliantly Better Breakfasts. 🙂

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced
  • 5 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 3 white mushrooms, diced
  • 20g grated cheddar
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely minced
  • 1 small sprig of spring onion / scallion, chopped
  • a pinch of dried herbs (I used oregano, rosemary, thyme, and parsley)
  • a pinch of paprika
  • salt and cracked black pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp of olive oil
  • a dash of soy sauce

Directions:

1. Preheat oven at gas mark 5.

2. Heat oil in skillet. Sauté onion and garlic until aromatic and onion becomes slightly translucent.

3. Add mushrooms, soy sauce, and black pepper, and sauté for about a minute.

4. Line a flan dish with baking paper. If you don’t have baking paper, lightly grease the dish. Arrange sautéd mushrooms, other vegetables, and cheddar in dish.

5. Beat eggs in a bowl. Season with salt, black pepper, and dried herbs. Pour egg mixture over veg, ensuring that the vegetables are submerged in egg mixture.

6. Bake for about 35 minutes.

7. Cut into 6 slices and serve while hot.

Enjoy! xx

6 thoughts on “Frittata and Tomato Couscous Bento + Recipe

Leave a Reply

