Recipe: Udon ai Funghi

udon-ai-funghi

Claudia my Italian colleague gave me a recipe for tagliatelle ai funghi (creamy mushroom tagliatelle) but I forgot to get tagliatelle on my way home from work. The only carbohydrate I had in my store cupboard was udon, so I decided to improvise and add an Asian twist to the Italian classic. The cream worked surprisingly well with the sesame oil and nori and the end result was, if I may say so myself, delightful. 🙂 Here is the recipe.

Ingredients (serves 1):

  • 1 packet of udon noodles (usually 150 – 250g)
  • 5 chestnut mushrooms (aka brown mushrooms, cremini mushrooms), sliced
  • 1/4 onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely minced
  • a handful of chopped parsley
  • 100ml double cream
  • sesame oil
  • kizami nori (shredded nori)
  • soy sauce
  • salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Heat 1 tbsp of sesame oil in a wok. When oil is hot, add onion and garlic and cook until aromatic.

2. Add mushrooms and sauté for about 2 minutes. Season mushrooms with soy sauce and black pepper.

3. Turn down heat. Pour in the cream and let simmer for about 2 minutes. Add udon. Season with salt and more pepper if needed.

5. Serve with parsley, kizami nori, and several drops of sesame oil.

Enjoy!

Winnie x

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Udon ai Funghi

Leave a Reply

